The introduction of the House system made a great change in the life of the school. The school was divided up into three houses named after founders and benefactors of the school; namely Usherwood, Macrorie and Frances Baines. These new houses were established in the main building in the original boarding areas. There was a narrow staircase at each end of the main building giving access to the different ‘houses’. An inter-house competition was held each year awarding points for school work and achievement in sport. Since the introduction of the House system a further three houses (Andrews, Marianne Browne and Mollie Stone) have been introduced and inter-house competitions are still an important part of school life.